Attachment – Isabel Fonseca

To be totally honest, I am not sure as to what to write about this book. Don’t get me wrong, it was well written and how she told the story, I am not just excited about this book as I have been about others I have read.

Jean and her husband Mark have moved from London, England to a tiny remote island of St. Jacques on the Indian Ocean. She is a syndicated columnist, and he is an advertising executive. After being married for 20 years, Jean thinks that her marriage is solid until she comes across a letter that is sexually charged from another woman addressed to her husband.

On her quest to find answers, she comes across a email account from this woman. This is where the story for me goes downhill. Jean starts to email this woman guises as her husband. Thus begins a adventure back to London, and to New York where she is originally from.

More then one thing is revealed in this tale of being married, having children and living life.

There is an instance in this novel where she comes across a Kestrel a rare bird in a reserve on the island. To me, this part of the book is about being released or finishing one journey in their lives and moving on to another. I am not sure if the premise for this part of the book was just thrown in to deflect what was actually going on in the novel or not.

Anyways, it was well written, I don’t think I would recommend this book. It was slow at times as well. Read it for yourself and see if you agree or not.

One thought on “Attachment – Isabel Fonseca

Leave a Reply

