It Would Be Funny…If It Wasn’t My Life – Lisa Dow

I have to admit, I picked this book up on a whim, while at the library last week. I was there to pick up a few books and just started wandering around.

I finished the Freud book last night, and was a bit tired, went and got all comfy in my bed, and a thought had hit me – I’m going to grab that book. I start to read it and am hooked from the first chapter.

Kit and her friend Mel are 30 somethings living in Toronto. They have good jobs, have been best friends since kindergarten in North Bay.

As Kit has just broken up with her boyfriend “Rob the Bike Courier” for cheating on her, she is happy on her own until one of the people she works with “Marc” asks her to a Leafs game. She thinks it is all good, they are just Friends …until, he says hes loved her since hes set eyes on her the first day they met. Obstacle number 2 – He’s married and has been for 20 years and has 3 kids.

Reeling from this information, she tries to distance herself from him, then she meets “Derek” on the subway as they commute to work. As one thing leads to another, her and Derek get on famously, and are planning a trip to Vegas…until she gets hit by a car.

As the story unfolds, I was laughing, giggling, and thinking how much worse can this get, and oh boy does it. At first when I started reading, I thought the author really gets right to business and wasn’t sure to expect. But as the story went on, and myself being a fan of “Chick Lit”, aka “Brain Candy” it was a great story and well written for a first time Canadian Author.

I would highly recommend this book if you are in need of a bit of “Brain Candy”

McArthur and Company

5 thoughts on “It Would Be Funny…If It Wasn’t My Life – Lisa Dow

  1. Nice to see a variety of books here. It’s neat that you recommend this as a lighter, more relaxed read. Very cool.

  2. I just read this book this weekend. I am an English teacher so I read lots of heavy stuff usually for classes and love the lighter stuff for my downtime. This book was so awesome, I read it within 24 hours – and that’s saying something, considering I have a husband, three kids and a dog at home who need my attention!! lol.
    I recommend this book to anyone who likes to kick back once in awhile. I’ll certainly be passing this one around to my friends.

  3. I could not AGREE with you more!!

    I read it in a few hours – into the wee hours of the morning, I just could not stand to put it down for a second, it was light, funny, and engaging.

    She also has a 2nd book that she is working on now, a continuation of this one… I can’t wait to read that one as well !!

  4. Dear Readers! Thank you for the wonderful comments! I’m so happy It Would Be Funny is being enjoyed (although I hope no one’s family is suffering unduly!)

    I just emailed “With Her Boots On” to my agent last week so hopefully will have publishing details soon!

    Thanks again,
    Lisa Dow

Leave a Reply

