Fool – Christopher Moore


OK, I wasn’t really sure about this book, until I had it in my hands and opened the pages. To my amazement, and this is no lie, in high school, I literally ducked every opportunity at which Shakespeare was forced upon my hands and told to read. Not that I didn’t get him, or his plays, I just wasn’t interested at what I thought was long drawn out, when in fact, is the opposite. But you really have to know how he speaks and what he means when it is said.

Christopher Moore’s “Fool” is based on Shakespeare’s King Lear. The warning page does say it all really… it goes like this:

“This is a bawdy tale. Herein, you will find gratuitous shagging, murder, spanking, maiming, treason, and heretofore unexplored heights of vulgarity and profanity, as well as non-traditional grammar, split infinitives, and the odd wank. If that sort of thing bothers you, then gentle reader pass by, for we endeavor only to entertain, not offend. That said, if that’s the sort of thing you think you might enjoy, then you have happened upon the perfect story!”

I never read King Lear but from googling it and reading this book, it is quite a shocking and unbelievable tale in itself. Three daughters, a King, 2 of the daughters want to murder the King, the third is exiled to France. The fool is actually the King’s nephew, and all of the other characters equally have colourful backgrounds and intentions.

I was laughing out loud laughing, shaking my head, and nodding my head up and down at the tale as it was told. I have to say, What in the world were they thinking.

I have been told by a friend of mine that loves the author that he is hilarious and will take you on a ride you never have before been on and she was spot on! So, if you want a bit of Black Adder- Monty Python type of humor then you have hit it spot on. Well Done !!

Nearly forgot, This is book number 5 I believe in the Warm Up To Winter Reading Challenge Too…..But, then again I am so done with Winter…Can we PLEASE have Spring now!


Browse Inside this bookGet this for your site

Amazon

HarperCollins Canada

Chapters Indigo

4 thoughts on “Fool – Christopher Moore

  1. I literally just started this one today while waiting in the Emergency room with my oldest son, who fell on the ice and needed stitches. I’m only two chapters in, but I am loving it! Christopher Moore definitely ranks right up there with my absolute favourite authors.

  2. Oh No! i hope he is ok, my son hasn’t had the opportunity to get stitches …yet although he has gotten a black eye a few years ago playing basketball the day before picture day lol

    I loved it too, he is good..very good

Leave a Reply

