I Need Bookish Help !

This book I have seen in my Grandmother’s kitchen as well as my Parent’s kitchen many years ago.  Since my heritage is Ukrainian with Czech I am posting this post to see if this will work any more than the appeal I have posted on Facebook.

For the last few years, I have been missing the smells coming out of my parents kitchen with the smells of Poppy Seed Roll among other things I do not have the recipes for, that suffice to say had taken advantage of since I was a child when these heavenly delights came out of the oven and ready to eat.

This is a Canadian book that was first published in Winnipeg Manitoba by Savella Stechishin 1957.  Here are the details

Stechishin, Savella ([1957] 1995). Traditional Ukrainian Cookery (18th ed. ed.). Winnipeg: Trident Press. ISBN 0-919490-36-0.

Now that being said there are a few copies on Amazon and elsewhere I have looked with prices of over $250.00.  I think that is an outrageous price to pay for a used and somewhat damaged book – either the dust cover is missing, or the pages are creased or the binding is falling apart in one way or another.

So, if anyone comes across this particular book, in whatever edition, I am willing to pay a maximum of $50 for the book.

This book brings really fond memories of my grandparents and parents all huddled in the kitchen making some of these delectable dishes to the table to be able to have a taste and enjoy one another’s company.

 

2 thoughts on “I Need Bookish Help !

Leave a Reply

