End of The Year Post 2009

Last year, I did a favorite books post of all of them that I had read, adored.  This year I am doing the same with my favorite 25 of the whole year.  In the past year, I have read a total of 148 books in varying shapes and sizes, it was such a hard decision to make.  Some were good, while others just jumped off the page as I wrote down all of the books I had read by the month.

Here is the list in no particular order –

The Diving Bell and the Butterfly by Jean Dominque Bauby (which also was made into a movie)

Follow Me by Joanna Scott

My Little Red Book edited by Rachel Kauder Nalebuff

Mistress of the Sun by Sandra Gulland **Canadian Author

Everything Under The Sky by Matilde Asensi

People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks

Hannah’s Dream by Diane Hammond

Gardens of Water by Alan Drew

Crazy for The Storm by Norman Ollestad

February by Lisa Moore ** Canadian Author

The Disappearance of Irene Dos Santos by Margaret Mascarenhas

Italian for Beginners by Kristen Harmel

The Day The Falls Stood Still by Cathy M. Buchanan ** Canadian Author

Bending Towards the Sun by Leslie Gilbert Laurie and Rita Laurie

The Wives Tale by Lori Lansens ** Canadian Author

The Soloist by Steve Lopez ( also made into a movie starring Robert Downey Jr & Jamie Foxx)

The Angel’s Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafron

The Secret Life of Marilyn Monroe by J. Randy Taraborelli

After You by Julie Buxbaum

The Disappeared by Kim Echlin (Giller Short List) ** Canadian Author

The Carnivore by Mark Sinnett ** Canadian Author

Through Black Spruce by Joseph Boyden Giller winner 2008 ** Canadian Author

Soup – Wholesome – Seasonal – Fresh Forward by Eric Schlosser

Tomato – A guide to the pleasures of choosing, growing, and cooking by Gail Harland and Sofia Larrinua Craxton

I would like to take this time as well to thank all of my fellow blogging buddies, friends, and publishing people as well as the people who come to read the reviews I post on my blog  to give my heartfelt thanks and most festive wishes for you all for the new year ahead.  You have all truly made it a more wonderful place for me to be able to share my love with books with you all just makes it all that much better.

Do you have any favorites of 2009, what are they, what was it about them that made it a favourite in your mind?

12 thoughts on “End of The Year Post 2009

  1. People of the Book is in my top ten for the year. If I expanded to 25, I’d also have Hannah’s Dream. You have several that are on my tbr list and I’m anxious to read them if they’re that great!

    • Like I said before Cathy, this will be a favourite book for a very long time. Not just because you and I come from the area, but just because it is just such a darn good book. Thank You for allowing me to be able to read it, meet you, and I hope we continue this journey for years to come ! I cannot wait for your next book to come out, I am eagerly anticipating when it comes out.

  2. i love how there are so many great books out there that i can never possibly read them all. i never fear that i’ll run out of great reading material. i haven’t read one of the books on your list but would like to read ‘the day the falls stood still’. glad you had such a good year. i didn’t do a year-end tally because i started my blog in march 2009 and it wasn’t a full year. lol. i have big plans for pie charts and graphs next year!

  3. Some of them were so good I couldn’t tear myself away from them ! I know I read A LOT, but there are many who read WAY faster then I do. I cannot imagine reading any faster then I have this year.

    Nat – You don’t need to keep track or make fancy graphs and all that stuff. it is personal preference, but even though you started in March it shouldn’t matter post them anyways! I would love to see your list.

  4. Pingback: News | Cathy Marie Buchanan

Leave a Reply

