Q and A with Author Becca Fitzpatrick

You may have read my review of Hush, Hush that I had written a while ago.  During that time I had contacted Becca with doing one of my Q and A’s with her, but since her schedule was so busy this was the only time she was able to do it.  So, a huge thank you to Becca for doing this during such a busy time.  I hope you enjoy her answers, I did.

  • What do you consider the most overrated virtue? Beauty.
  • Which words or phrases do you most overuse? Okay, this is really funny. Just a little while ago, my editor mentioned to me that I use the word “window” a bajillion times in HUSH, HUSH. Who would have thought? Apparently I really like windows. My editor thought there was some deeper meaning to all the windows, but I swear, I’m not that philosophical or deep!
  • What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery? I was about to say loneliness, but changed my mind to feeling despised. I’m not sure how my quality of life would be if I felt the world hated me, but I’m guessing pretty darn low.
  • What is it that you most dislike? This is a tough question. My answer is always going to depend on my mood. My biggest pet peeve is when I walk into a large, empty public restroom, say at the library, and the person who walks in behind me takes the stall directly next to mine. GARAH! I mean, there are ten other available stalls, and they have to plunk down right beside me? It’s just…weird.
  • Which talent would you most like to have besides writing? Dancing. I love the show So You Think You Can Dance. Man, it would be awesome to move like that, to express myself that way.
  • When writing your current novel, what was it that you wanted to convey most about the story, characters? In HUSH, HUSH, I really wanted to convey the power of physical attraction, but I wonder if I did a very good job. I say that, because I get a lot of people asking why I never went deeper with Patch and Nora, writing about their “undying love” for each other. Honestly, I don’t think they’re to that point. HUSH, HUSH was more of an “I see you, I like what I see, but I’m not sure I should” type of story. Whether they develop a deeper love is yet to be seen…
  • What was it about writing that made you want to pursue it full time and not work in the health care field as you wrote? Easy. I loved writing! Please don’t tell my mom I said this, but the only reason I graduated in Health was because it was blissfully, wonderfully low in credits. I bounced around a lot in college, trying to decide what to major in, but nothing stuck. By my junior year, I knew I was getting dangerously down to the wire. So I did a search for majors with low credit requirements. Health happened to be one. Probably, English was too, but it never occurred to me to major in English.
  • If you were to die and come back as a person or thing, what do you think it would be? A really good book!
  • Who are your favourite writers? Laurie Halse Anderson, Diana Gabaldon, Sandra Brown, L.M. Montgomery, Emily Bronte, Jane Austen, Sue Grafton, Laurie R. King, Richelle Mead.
  • What is your one principle defect? Oh, wow, I have a lot of defects and even more flaws. If I’m being completely honest with myself, my biggest defect is probably my resistance to change. I’m a creature of habit, which would be fine, if my habits were actually good!

Becca’s Website

Hush Hush Website

2 thoughts on “Q and A with Author Becca Fitzpatrick

  1. Pingback: uberVU - social comments

  2. Pingback: Bayou Web Lies | Literary Escapism

Leave a Reply

