Literacy Event on March 1, 2010

I was approached my my son’s Principal on Friday asking if I was able to receive some donations of books for a Family Literacy event they are having on March 1, 2010 at the school.

Thinking that it was such a tight time frame, I immediately sent out emails to various publishers.  I was surprised to open my inbox today to see that three of the emails had been returned with POSITIVE results.

So, this is my second call out to the rest of the publishers who I may or may not have contacted or have information for.

St. Mary’s is unique.  We have approximately 350 students from Kindergarten to Grade 8 with a wide range of ethnic and cultural groups.  Some of the students come from many countries around the world, who are not only new to Canada, but to the English language, some have physical and developmental disabilities.  We also welcome students from around the region to our state of the art Cyberquest Studios where they learn about technologies such as aerospace, engineering design, electronics, desktop publishing, audio-visual and robotics.

This eclectic and diverse environment gives the kids a passion for helping one another, as well as a bit of information about other parts of the world.

I CHALLENGE YOU TO SEND BOOKS !

If you wish to contact me, I can be contacted using the contact form on my blog here.

The event is on March 1, 2010.  So time is of the essence !

Thanks !

**Update** I have these publishers donating – DK Canada, Raincoast Books, Hachette Book Group, Random House, Penguin Canada, Simon and Schuster

2 thoughts on “Literacy Event on March 1, 2010

    • Books that will appeal to anyone. With that being said, I am looking for books for kids, adults, books that can be read as a activity, or just to bring about conversation about what they liked, what they didn’t.

      I haven’t heard back from HC yet..

Leave a Reply

