Q and A with Danielle Trussoni

As you know, Danielle’s book Angelology has been hitting just about every best-selling list when it published.  I had a chance to talk to her about the book, and herself.  So, a heartfelt thank you to Danielle for taking the time out of her busy schedule to answer my questions.  My review is here.

What was it that you wanted to convey in your latest book Angelology?I WANTED TO WEAVE TOGETHER AN ENGROSSING STORY WITH A NUMBER OF HIGHLY RESEARCHED HISTORICAL SETTINGS. I WAS HOPING TO FIND A WAY TO MAKE A COMPLETELY NEW AND UNIQUE IMAGINARY WORLD THAT READERS COULD WHOLLY BELIEVE IN AND BECOME LOST IN.

Are you currently writing the sequel to Angelology?  Do you have an idea of when it will be published? – YES, I’M CURRENTLY WRITING ANGELOPOLIS, THE SEQUEL TO ANGELOLOGY THAT FOLLOWS EVANGELINE AND VERLAIN (THE HEROINE AND HERO FROM THE FIRST BOOK). I BELIEVE IT WILL BE OUT IN 2012.

I was curious, what was the reason behind combining the 2 different time periods instead of doing one book about the time in the 1940’s and a separate book in the present?  Was it easier in a sense to plot it out? – I WANTED TO HAVE MANY DIFFERENT LOCATIONS AND TIME PERIODS WOVEN INTO ONE GREAT BIG NOVEL. I WAS GOING FOR A SWEEPING, EPIC EXPERIENCE, WHERE READERS WOULD FIND THEMSELVES TRAVELING ALL OVER THE WORLD AND MEETING CHARACTERS FROM DIFFERENT HISTORICAL PERIODS. ONE PART OF THE BOOK IS IN 1940’s FRANCE, ANOTHER IN 10TH CENTURY BULGARIA ANOTHER IN CONTEMPORARY NEW YORK CITY. THE BOOK ALLOWS READERS TO TAKE A JOURNEY.

Did you have any say about that absolutely gorgeous cover?  Was there any stipulations that you absolutely had to have, or did you leave it in the hands of the professionals? – I LOVE THE COVER! THE PHOTOGRAPHER/ARTIST JEFF BARK TOOK THE PHOTOGRAPH. IT IS AN ACTUAL MALE MODEL POSING WITH WINGS. THE ONLY THING I DID NOT WANT ON THE COVER WAS A SWEET GOLDEN CHERUB FLOATING IN A CERULEAN SKY.

You had previously published memoirs, what was the reason for the change? – I WANTED TO WRITE SOMETHING AS FAR AWAY FROM MY FIRST BOOK FALLING THROUGH THE EARTH AS POSSIBLE, AND SO I DECIDED TO ALLOW MY IMAGINATION TO SIMPLY TRANSPORT ME WHERE IT WOULD. ANGELOLOGY WAS THE RESULT.

Which Historical Figure do you most identify with? – I LOVE THE WRITER COLETTE. ALSO, COCO CHANEL.

What do you consider your greatest achievement? – MAINTAINING MY CAREER AS A WRITER WHILE RAISING TWO BEAUTIFUL KIDS–MY SON, ALEX, AND MY DAUGHTER NICO.

What is your idea of perfect happiness? – IF I COULD CAPTURE PURE HAPPINESS IN A SINGLE MOMENT IT WOULD BE OF SITTING IN A PURE WHITE ROOM, A VASE OF YELLOW TULIPS NEAR A WINDOW, JUST BEFORE SOMEONE I LOVE IS RINGING THE DOORBELL.

What would be the trait you most deplore in others? – IT USED TO BE LAZINESS, ALTHOUGH NOW I’M FINDING SOMETHING WORTHWHILE IN BEING LAZY. NOW I THINK IT IS POSSESSIVENESS.

Which talent besides writing would you most like to have and why? – I’D LIKE TO SING IN A BAND.

Who are your favourite writers? – I LOVE  NABOKOV AND WILKIE COLLINS AND COLETTE.

What do you regard and the lowest depth of misery? – I HAVE A GOOD ENOUGH IMAGINATION TO REALIZE THAT MISERY CAN ALWAYS GO A NOTCH LOWER. I KNOW THAT I HAVEN’T BEEN TO THAT POINT.

BookLounge.ca has a contest going right now where you can win a signed copy of Angelology – ENTER HERE GOOD LUCK!!

Leave a Reply

