Man Booker Longlist Announced and a Challenge !

Minutes ago, the Man Booker Prize Longlist of Books was announced.  On my facebook page, I posted a CHALLENGE in the notes section challenging all of my bookish friends that I have on there to read at least ONE book from the list.

Now, I am going to challenge YOU all to do the same.

Here is the list, I have changed the publishers according to Canadian Publishing Houses who have already published the books, and since the Man Booker is a British Reading Prize and they published the list according to the British Publishers, so I am hopefully taking some of the guesswork out for you. I have listed the Canadian Publishers.  There are a few that I haven’t been able to find, but, maybe you will be able to find them.  If you do, let me know !

Now, I have read I believe 2 of the books on here and have one on my shelf waiting to be read, so are you up for the challenge???

Here is the list –

Peter Carey –  Parrot and Oliver in America (Faber and Faber)

Emma Donoghue –  Room (HarperCollins Canada) ( I have a copy sitting on my shelf)

Helen Dunmore –  The Betrayal (Penguin – Fig Tree)

Damon Galgut –  In a Strange Room (McCelland and Stewart)

Howard Jacobson –  The Finkler Question (Bloomsbury)

Andrea Levy –  The Long Song (Penguin – Hamish Hamilton )

Tom McCarthy –  C (Knopf Canada)

David Mitchell –  The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet (Knopf Canada)

Lisa Moore-  February (House of Anansi) ( Have READ AND ADORED IT)

Paul Murray-  Skippy Dies (Penguin – Hamish Hamilton)

Rose Tremain –  Trespass (Random House – Chatto & Windus)

Christos Tsiolkas –  The Slap (HarperCollins)   (Have READ IT)

Alan Warner –  The Stars in the Bright Sky (Random House – Vintage)

So, are YOU up for reading at least ONE of these books ??

3 thoughts on “Man Booker Longlist Announced and a Challenge !

  1. You can definitely count me in for this challenge! I’ve wanted to read The Slap for ages now! I’m going to read it once it’s published in the U.S. which is next month or so. Maybe I’ll add Room to the list since I’m noticing it’s receiving some positive reviews online.

Leave a Reply

