Canada Reads is BACK!!

Aren’t you excited ?!? I know I am !

These are the books, if you choose to read them – I have already read 2 out of the 5 books, so this will be an interesting discussion for sure.  The books were voted on by the public from 40 down to 10, and these are the 5 final books.  The defenders are set, so all you have to do is read until you drop (or fall asleep) then tune into CBC – on the radio, or online beginning February  – The 7th, 8th, and 9th for the debates with Jian Ghomeshi as host.  I have a feeling with all of the eclectic defenders there will be some fierce debates for sure, so don’t miss it ! I know I won’t be.

The Best Laid Plans by Terry Fallis is being defended by Ali Velshi

The Birth House by Ami McKay is being defended by Debbie Travis

The Bone Cage by Angie Abdou is being defended by Georges Laraque

Essex County by Jeff Lemire is being defended by Sara Quin

Unless by Carol Shields is being defended by Lorne Cardinal

So, do you have a favorite book? Do you have a favorite defender? Since I have only read 2 of the 5 books, I am keeping my favorites secret for now, until I have a chance to read all five books.

3 thoughts on “Canada Reads is BACK!!

    • I have read that one and one more, I am giving too much away here I think, but, I still have to get the other three on the list, I placed holds, but, (I know another but!) Some may have to be read after it is all over with b/c library says they are either on order, or someone else has them…I may have to send search party out !

  1. I’ve only read Unless, which I enjoyed, but I have the others on reserve at the library. They probably won’t arrive before the debates-they didn’t last year either, but I hope to get through them eventually. I look forward to your thoughts on them.

Leave a Reply

