#9 – In The Company of Others – Jan Karon

Father Tim and Cynthia arrive in the west of Ireland, intent on researching his Kavanagh ancestry from the comfort of a charming fishing lodge.

The charm, however, is broken entirely when Cynthia startles a burglar and sprains her already-injured ankle. Then a cherished and valuable painting is stolen from the lodge owners, and Cynthia’s pain pales in comparison to the wound at the center of this bitterly estranged Irish family. – Publishers Website

I started this novel when I had 2 or 3 on the go at once.  I usually read one at a time, but this time I got carried away.  Bad Mistake.  So, I put a few on the nightstand beside my bed until I finished the one I had been reading.  I don’t like reading more than one book at a time, because all of the different plots run into one another.  This is exactly what happened with this book, so I re-read this book, and found it to be a quiet sneaking up on you type of novel.  Perfect for contemplation and thinking about what is going on in your own life, with a pinch of religion.  Father Tim is on holiday attempting to find his own roots in Ireland, when his wife re-injures her ankle.  The plot which happens in Ireland is much of what Father Tom experiences in his own parish before he retires.

But, as we all know about people who work for the big guy upstairs, there really isn’t retirement..just more work outside of the church, you help everyone in need, regardless.  The plot comes upon you slowly, until (or at least it did for me) until you reach a point of recognition in your own life, can appreciate what the book is saying, understanding the life lessons that are placed ever so neatly amongst the paragraphs and chapters.

I quite enjoyed it, I think you will as well, if it is a time of reflection and or contemplation, the story itself is grand as well.

Penguin / Viking

Jan’s Website – Mitford Series

Leave a Reply

