# 11 – Light Lifting – Alexander MacLeod

In Light Lifting, Alexander MacLeod offers a suite of darkly urban and unflinching elegies for an industrial city and community on the brink. These are stories of work and its bonds, of tragedy and tragedy barely averted, but also of love and beauty and fragile understanding. – Publishers Website

What a refreshing book of short stories.  At first I was unsure of what I would find inside, but as I started reading the first page, I knew it was a winner.  The evocative writing especially in one of the stories, had me just a tad paranoid about one creature, that if you read the book you will know what I am talking about.  Yes, I won’t mention it, because really, it is every parents nightmare receiving a phone call home about your child being infested with these creatures.  Yes, those!

His stories in this edition, evoke every imaginable feeling as you read about the creatures, certain sports as if you are there watching or even being right beside in the throes of competition attempting to win the race, or the train.  I really loved his narrative style and prose.  I am anxiously awaiting his next work.

Light Lifting was short listed for the 2010 Giller Prize.

Read an excerpt

Leave a Reply

