#64 – Fury – Elizabeth Miles

Sometimes sorry isn’t enough….

It’s winter break in Ascension, Maine. The snow is falling and everything looks pristine and peaceful. But not all is as it seems…

Between cozy traditions and parties with her friends, Emily loves the holidays. And this year’s even better–the guy she’s been into for months is finally noticing her. But Em knows if she starts things with him, there’s no turning back. Because his girlfriend is Em’s best friend.

On the other side of town, Chase is having problems of his own. The stress of his home life is starting to take its toll, and his social life is unraveling. But that’s nothing compared to what’s really haunting him. Chase has done something cruel…something the perfect guy he pretends to be would never do. And it’s only a matter of time before he’s exposed.

In Ascension, mistakes can be deadly. And three girls—three beautiful, mysterious girls—are here to choose who will pay.  – Publishers Website

I wanted to like this book, like I want to like all books, I just didn’t have it in me.  This is yet another Teen Fiction book from Simon and Schuster’s Imprint Simon Pulse that I had received.  It is one of those sensationalized books with tawdry details about what the teens are doing in a particular town.  Please don’t get me wrong, I love chic lit like the next female…This one for me wasn’t one I would recommend.

For one thing, I can’t recommend a book that is about one girl stealing another girls boyfriend.  I do have high morals and values in life.  For me issues like this are important to me – not just books, but everywhere – tv, movies, etc.  For me, it gives teens in this age group ideas, that they can use in life.  Then you hear it in the newspaper, on the evening news.  What happens then, other teenagers get ideas to do the same thing.  Sorry this should be a separate blog post all together, but, I feel it has to be addressed.

It isn’t anything against the author, she had an idea and it got published.  I congratulate her on her success, which it is.  That is why I am so picky about young adult titles in general.  I don’t want to promote a book that gives in my mind ideas could be used in life that would hurt others.  The writing is good, the author has 2 other books coming out in the series of three books.  I am just giving you the information, should you choose to buy it, go for it, check it out for yourself, but I will not be asking for the other books in the series.

It could be possible that I am going way overboard on this topic / book.  I feel strongly about it.  Not that the world is full of rainbows and flowers, which it isn’t, I just don’t think that we need to be giving young adults more ideas than what they already have to inflict hurt or pain on someone else.  And I may be totally off the mark about how the book is being marketed, so my apologies if I am wrong.

There 2 other books coming out in the series – 1- Fury, 2 – Envy, 3- Eternity  I am not sure the release dates of the others in the series, check the publisher’s website, or Elizabeth’s site or blog for more information.

Elizabeth on FacebookGoodReadsTwitterElizabeth’s WebsiteSeries Site

One thought on “#64 – Fury – Elizabeth Miles

Leave a Reply

