Thank You for Flying Air Zoe – Erik Atwell – REVIEW and Q & A

Old enough to know better, young enough to do it anyway

Ladies and Gentlemen, the Fasten Seat Belt sign has been turned on, but feel free to ignore it, because sometimes life is best lived on its dizzy edges. Your cruising altitude today will be sky-high, and you will be flying at staggering speeds as you travel alongside Zoe Tisdale, former Valley Girl and rock star turned bored butter saleswoman.

On the heels of a brush with mortality, Zoe concludes that she’s been letting time pass her by. Realizing she needs to awaken her life’s tired refrains, Zoe vows to recapture the one chapter of her life that truly mattered to her – her days as drummer for The Flip-Flops, a spirited, sassy all-girl garage band that almost hit the big time back in 1987. But reuniting the band won’t be easy. The girls who were once the whiz kid guitarist, the prom queen bass player, and the hippie lead singer grew up and became women who are now a reclusive dog trainer, a wealthy socialite, and a sociopathic environmentalist. Will Zoe bring the band back together and give The Flip-Flops a second chance at stardom? Is it possible to fully reclaim the urgent energy of youth?

As you follow this wild flight path, please know that your destination could be anywhere at all, complimentary oxygen is provided upon request, and baggage flies free. We hope you enjoy the ride, and Thank You For Flying Air Zoe. – Publishers Website

I wasn’t really into this book until I got about a third through it for some strange reason.  It is one of those books where at least for me, it has to grow a bit and spread its wings before I devour it like I have been lately.  The even more strange thing about it, is it’s a male, yes, a male writing a female chic lit book!

Sadly the last one that I had read, was a disaster.  Didn’t like it one bit.  This one is a complete 180 in comparison.  Light, funny, exactly what you want in one of those type books.  It was a light airy read, that I found myself chuckling to along the way albeit, a few of the classical themes.  Sometimes predictable, but like I stated before, light airy, I have said a lot about that….

Don’t believe me?  Pick it up for yourself and let me know how you liked it.

Below is the Q and A I recently did with Erik, I hope you enjoy the questions I posed and I really liked his answers back! Engaging and well-informed !

How much of yourself is in your novel?

You mean was I ever in an all-girl garage band? 😉

Kidding, of course. Despite obvious gender differences, I think Zoe and I have a common core in the importance we place on maintaining a sense of youthful spirit. I am a firm believer that it’s never too late to chase after something you’ve always wanted, even if time is seemingly against such a crusade. Dream large, take chances, and never subject yourself to regret.

What is the reason behind you writing chic-lit instead of another genre?

The truth is, I didn’t actively set out to write a chick lit novel. I just wrote what I thought was a fun, heartfelt story, and the chick lit community, much to my delight, completely embraced it. As for why I wrote a novel told from a female P.O.V., that’s the real mystery. Ever since college, I’ve enjoyed the writing process more when I’m focusing on a woman’s story. Not sure why that’s been the case, but so long as it’s yielding positive feedback, I’ll probably run with it! It’s a great challenge to write outside one’s gender, one that I both relish and respect greatly.

What would be your idea of perfect happiness?

Isn’t any sort of happiness perfect in and of itself? As I see it, if I’m in the middle of a happy moment, no matter how long or short its ultimate duration, life right then and there is pure and perfect bliss.

What is the one talent(s) you would like to have besides writing?

Singing, simply because I’ve mangled one too many songs on various Karaoke stages across the country.

To be sure, I am not your next American Idol.

If you died and had the chance to come back as anything you wanted, what would it be and why?

Would it be too narcissistic of me to say that I want to come back as myself? In the past, I might have had a more creative answer, but the thing is, my wife and I welcomed our first child just about a year ago. He is a charming and curious marvel of a little man, and I absolutely don’t want to miss a single second of his growth.

So yeah, I’m coming back as myself. I wanna see what this awesome little guy becomes. 🙂

Did you or have you borrowed real life things that have happened in your own life to be able to craft the characters in this novel, or other stories?

If I borrow anything for my writing, it’s probably only places and settings. Many say that the best writing comes from experience, but sometimes I feel too close to my experiences to accurately write about them. I wouldn’t be able to bring pure objectivity to the source material. Lately, however, I’ve started toying with a project that would completely toss this notion aside. Maybe I actually can write from a place closer to the source material.

Do you have any new projects that you are doing now? If you are, when can we expect them?

My family and I have recently just completed a cross-country move, so we’re only now starting to make the leap from scattered to settled. I have two projects at the proverbial tip of my pen, but I’m not quite sure which one will get the call. There’s an Air Zoe sequel brewing, but if the sales figures aren’t quite up to justifying such a project when the time comes to write, I will possibly have to shift gears and take on the other project — a super top-secret project I’m too superstitious to discuss.

But I’m pretty sure it’ll be totally fun to write.

Do you have any favorite heroes in fiction? Who are they and why?

Wow, I’m actually surprising myself here, but I actually can’t think of a character who straightaway comes to mind. I’ve certainly been a fan of some literary greats — Mockingbird’s Scout Finch, Jimmy Rabbitte from The Commitments, and now that I’m a new Dad, Seuss’s Cat in the Hat! But these are more characters who’ve entertained me more than characters I see as heroes. I think I tend to be more in awe of the writers who created them — Harper Lee, Roddy Doyle, Dr. Seuss… I’m not sure I can be actively moved by a fictional character as much as by the author who pens their story.

Are there any qualities in other people who you most admire? If so, what are they?

I’m sure I admire far too many virtues to list them all, but one in particular that registers highly in my book — and correlates to the characters in my novel — is loyalty. I come from a town where my childhood friends are still some of my best friends, and in many ways, I believe that an individual is in part defined by the relationships they cultivate.

What phrase(s) do you most overuse?

It’s not actually a phrase, per se, but I think I actually use the word actually too often in my prose, actually.

But I’m actually working hard on that. 😉

Thank you so much for the questions and for giving THANK YOU FOR FLYING AIR ZOE some space on your blog!

Thank you Erik for allowing me to ask you questions and allowing me to read your nice piece of writing !

Other Tour Dates and Blogs

Thursday, June 21st:  Chick Lit is not Dead

Thursday, June 28th:  Girls Just Reading

Monday, July 2nd:  A Musing Reviews

Tuesday, July 3rd:  Luxury Reading

Thursday, July 5th:  Shoe-girl.com

Monday, July 9th:  Chick Lit Central

Tuesday, July 10th:  Seaside Book Nook

Wednesday, July 11th:  Peeking Between the Pages

Wednesday, July 11th:  Life in Review

Thursday, July 12th:  A Chick Who Reads

Monday, July 16th:  girlichef

Monday, July 16th:  From the Heart of a Bookworm

Tuesday, July 17th:  Mom in Love with Fiction

Wednesday, July 18th:  Serendipitous Readings – That’s me !

Thursday, July 19th:  Sara’s Organized Chaos

Friday, July 20th:  The Book Chick

Monday, July 23rd:  Sweet Southern Home

Tuesday, July 24th:  Acting Balanced

Erik’s TwitterFacebookBlog/Website

Much thanks to Lisa at TLC Book Tours, even with her broken arm/elbow, she’s still got it and what I like in choices of books…or maybe she just guessing because of the pain meds LOL 😉

4 thoughts on “Thank You for Flying Air Zoe – Erik Atwell – REVIEW and Q & A

  1. Pingback: Erik Atwell, author of Thank You for Flying Air Zoe, on tour June/July 2012 | TLC Book Tours

Leave a Reply

