Lawrence Hill on The Hour

Lawrence Hill is the author that wrote “The Book of Negroes”  in Canada which, is otherwise known as “Someone Knows My Name” in the US and other countries.  I actually did not know this, he does explain it in his interview.  There is also a screenplay in the works.

Yesterday, @cbcbookclub asked me on twitter who would I want to see as the lead character in the movie,right away I thought of 2 – Queen Latifah, and Jada Pinkett Smith.  Then asked why, I said it was their screen presence, and also their ability to bite into tough characters and have it portrayed genuinely as well.  We will see what happens!

Sorry, I cannot embed the code directly from the site, so you will have to go to The Hour’s website and view it from there.

Lawrence Hill on The Hour

Here is the link to my review of

Book of Negroes

Book of Negroes

The Book of Negroes

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Lawrence Hill on The Hour

  1. How do see Queen Latif and Jada Pinkett Smith for the same character? I realize they take on the character but each actress is very different and because of their presence, they suffer that “Jack Nicholson” effect for me. You never completely forget who they are.

    I haven’t read the book so I have no recommendations but I confess, putting those two name in the same category just strikes me very odd.

    • I know they are 2 totally different in terms of how they act and how they are presented on the screen. Those are the 2 that came to mind when thinking about the book, and who would be able to portray the story.

      I know it is odd, but if you do happen to read the book, you will understand why I said those 2.

      After reading another book not so long ago, and hearing that Anne Hathaway was starring in it, I nearly up chucked my coffee, for me she is so totally wrong for the role

  2. Pingback: The Anthology » Blog Archive » Considering this is the Anthology, I’ve talked very little about literature

Leave a comment